Skip to main content

The CEM Award for outstanding achievement in smart grid innovation—the ISGAN Award of Excellence—showcases leadership and innovation in smart grid projects around the world. Projects receiving this prestigious award serve as global exemplars of the value that smarter, cleaner electric grids can offer. Thus, the Award of Excellence helps promote proven smart grid concepts.

CEM's International Smart Grid Action Network (ISGAN) sponsors the award.

Learn more about the ISGAN Award of Excellence on the ISGAN website.

The winners of the Award of Excellence were highlighted at the Ninth Clean Energy Ministerial in Copenhagen, Denmark. 

2019 ISGAN Award of Excellence - Now Accepting Applications

Nominations are now open for the fifth ISGAN Award of Excellence competition, sponsored by the International Smart Grid Action Network (ISGAN), in partnership with the Global Smart Grid Federation (GSGF). Scroll down for details. 

Key Accomplishments

Global Recognition

On June 24, 2018, ISGAN, in partnership with the Global Smart Grid Federation (GSGF), announced the winners of the fourth annual ISGAN Award of Excellence, during a special ceremony at the Ninth Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM9) in Copenhagen, Denmark. Ibrahim Baylan, the Swedish Minister for Policy Coordination and Energy, presented the ISGAN Award to the winning projects.

The ISGAN Award of Excellence international competition showcases leadership and innovation in smart grid projects around the world. The 2018 ISGAN Award of Excellence recognizes exemplars in the field of smart grids with a special focus on “flexibility” that will advance smart grids by improving the flexibility of the grid by balancing supply and demand simultaneously, thereby reducing customer losses from power disruptions.

Theme for 2018

Excellence in Smart Grids for Flexibility

Competition at a Glance

For the fourth Annual ISGAN Award of Excellence competition, a wide range of smart grid project nominations were received, representing projects from 10 different countries throughout the world. The winning projects were selected by an independent, international jury of smart grid experts, led by Reji Pillai Kumar, Executive Director of the Global Smart Grid Federation (GSGF). The jury selected the winning projects based on the following four criteria: potential impact, economic rationale, potential for replication and adaptation, innovation and other benefits.

Competition Result

The 2018 ISGAN Award of Excellence, which focused on “Smart Grids for Flexibility,” was awarded to Sustainable Energy’s Coordinating Power Control, from Sweden.

Six other projects were also honored with the title “Finalists”: Smart Grid Deployment Projectfrom Korea, and Smart OperatorEfficient control and monitoring of the low voltage gridfrom Germany, SysDL 2.0 – Ancillary services from large-area distribution grids, from Germany, Local Energy System with Customer Flexibility, from Sweden, OpenADR4Chile, from Italy, and Instability Detector of the Gaspésie Regional Power System: DIR-Gaspésie (CGART-ALGORES), from Canada.

EON’s Local Energy System with Customer Flexibility was also honored with the GSGF Best Smartgrid Project Award, which recognized its excellence of replication.

Key Activities

2019 Award Theme: Local Integrated Energy Systems (Smart Microgrids)

Smart microgrids are modern, small-scale versions of the centralized electricity system. They achieve specific local goals, such as reliability, carbon emission reduction, diversification of energy sources, and cost reduction, established by the community being served. Like the bulk power grid, smart microgrids generate, distribute, and regulate the flow of electricity to consumers, but do so locally. Smart microgrids are an ideal way to integrate renewable resources on the community level and allow for customer participation in the electricity enterprise.

Recognizing the critical importance and the role of smart grids sustaining a reliable and resilient grid through integration of energy systems, ISGAN has chosen “Smart Grids for Local Integrated Energy Systems (Smart Microgrids)” as the theme of the 2019 Award of Excellence.

  Eligible Projects

  • Eligible projects include pilot, demonstration, and deployment projects
  • Please see the ‘Official Rules’ of the ISGAN Award of Excellence and detailed ‘Submission Forms’ for more information
  • The international jury panel will select winning projects based on five key criteria:
    • Potential impact (25pt),
    • Economic rationale (25pt),
    • Potential for replication or adaptation (25pt),
    • Innovation (12.5pt), and,
    • Other benefits (12.5pt).
  • Winners will be announced during a ceremony at the tenth Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM10) in May 2019 in Canada
  • Winners will be invited to participate in the ceremony for a certificate & plaque and be recognized in ISGAN products and proceedings over the following months

  Timeline of Awards Competition

 Submission Deadline: 15 November 2018

Visit: ISGAN AWARDS website for more details 

Operating Agent